Aspasia Nasopoulou


Six miniatures for clavichord, square piano and fortepiano


for Michael Tsalka (IL/NL)

The cycle of six pieces is based on and inspired by six Rubaiyat of the Persian mathematician and philosopher Omar Khayyám (1048-1131).
The introvert meditative clavichord, the direct outspoken ‘grotesque’ square piano and the intellectual fortepiano, form a very special group of keyboard instruments.
Related to my intention to research the miniature form, the Rubaiyats, a 4-line form poetry equally to Greek and Roman epigrams and to Japanese Haikus, immediately captured my interest; bringing the theme in the first line, developing it in the second, making a climax in the third and concluding dramatically in the fourth, or finishing alternatively with something as surprise, gave me great handles for my compositional choices. The piece Enigma is composed for the special combination of fortepiano and glass harmonica. Glass harmonic Dennis James (USA).
The compositions were supported by FPK


May 25, 2018 at VII Nordic Historical Keyboard Festival